Ao Dai Blog

June 27, 2006

It is almost time to leave Vietnam, however everyday I have been making new contacts which makes me want to film and stay longer! The other day I read a great article on a family who makes Ao Dai’s. I decided to contact the writer and she has been so helpful that I want to fly to Hanoi to meet her and see how we can work together.

So far my travels in filming this documentary has taken me to San Jose, Santa Ana, Saigon, Hue, Hoi An, and back to Saigon. If I had more money and time, I would fly to not only Hanoi, but also Italy and Paris since I recieved emails from there too!

Currently, I will be filming more designers in HCMC and also painters who draw Ao Dai. I would like to make this documentary a mix of new and old, as well as photos to illustrations. Today I read about silk worms that make the silk Ao Dai and I thought it would be very interesting to film that process or at least have some pictures.

I have just created this new blog since my http://www.vietq.wordpress.com blog had too many Ao Dai entries, so I decided this would be a better way to organize all things that deal with the Ao Dai. Feel free to email any comments to tran_donny@yahoo.com -Donny Hieu Tran

Leave a Reply

